Let’s Talk Insurance

Insurance is as big a part of this journey as anything else.   Do you know that only 5 states in the US offer full infertility coverage?  Of those states at least one has loop holes allowing for companies to pay for some coverage and not others.

I am from Pennsylvania but moved to Maryland after college to work.   Lucky for me, Maryland is one of the 5 states with infertility coverage and no loop holes.   So when the RE’s office called for my coverage we learned that I could have unlimited IUI’s and 3 IVF cycles covered up to $100,000.  That includes all medications (after co-pay), my ultrasounds (after co-pay), and anything else related to infertility.

Insurance

My advice is to check and see what your insurance covers and what you need to do to get the coverage.   With my old insurance company I had to get a referral from my OB/gyn for however many appointments I needed.  We then had to be trying to get pregnant for at least a year before we started IUI’s.  In order to move on to IVF we had to have had 3 IUI’s and then have been trying to get pregnant for 2 years.   So there were a lot of stipulations but I do realize I’m very, very lucky to have the coverage I do.   We otherwise wouldn’t have been able to go through any treatment.

With my new insurance company I don’t need any referrals.   I can have as many lifetime IUI’s as I need and 3 IVF cycle’s per contract year.   I also have my medications (after co-pay), ultrasounds (after co-pay), and any testing covered as well.  There are not many restrictions with my new insurance company.   I am just thankful that I am in Maryland where we receive full coverage.

So are you wondering what states offer coverage?   The best coverage states are Maryland, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and New Jersey,  There are 10 other states that have infertility benefits on the books that range from covering testing all the way up to 1 IVF cycle.   these states are:  Arkansas, Hawaii, Texas, California, Illinois, Louisiana, Montana, New York, Ohio, and West Virginia.

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Insurance

  1. Kimberly

    Its nearing 4:00 and I’m headed home. I’m loving your blog so far. It feels really “real” and raw. I’m in MD too! I had no idea what MD was a mandated state until recently. How lucky are we?

    Like

    Reply
    1. 26rainbow Post author

      Thank you! I’m writing from the heart. We are both really lucky to live in Maryland. It’s one of only 5 states with mandated IF coverage. If I lived in another state there is no way I’d be able to do treatment.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

