IVF Medications

As promised my nurse ordered my IVF medications for me.   I had to get them through my insurance companies fertility pharmacy.  They gave me a call in mid-June and asked when I needed the medication.  Knowing I only had this insurance until June 30th, I requested to have them delivered June 28th.

They then wanted to go over all of the medications with me.   When they started talking I realized I had next to no idea about most of the medications.  All I knew is that it sounded like a lot.   There were 2 different pills, at least 5 different medications, 1 suppository, 3 different needle sizes, a red sharps container, alcohol swabs, and more.  To say I was overwhelmed would be an understatement.

Since I knew my nurse ordered me what I needed I said ok.  They told me that they didn’t know my total yet but if I wanted to give them a credit card and set a limit, they would only call me if it was over that limit.  I wasn’t sure what to say, but I hoped insurance was paying for most and gave them a $350 limit.   They thanked me and hung up.  I never received a call so I figured the amount was less then that.

IVF Medications

My insurance came through before the actual medications did.  In total, my bill was over $5,000 for the medications.  I also threw up….seriously.   With insurance my balance was only about $200, which was great, but I was still sick by the fact that I would have to put $5,000 worth of medication in my body in a very short amount of time.

When the medications arrived on the promised day I simply stared at them.  My husband asked what the package was and when I told him he didn’t say a word.  We both just stared at the box.   Finally I unpacked it onto my table.   Are you wondering what $5,000 in medication looks like?   It looks like this.

Are you wondering exactly what I received?   I’ll be happy to list it for you along with how much it cost.

1 bottle of 10,000 units of Novarel (Trigger shot)-$88.90

6 packages of Gonal-F with 450 IU’s and 5 syringes -$444.00/each

20 vials of Menopur 75 IU’s-$73.90/5 vials

5 Ganirelix 250 mcg shots -$144.90/each

15- 3ml 22G 1 1/2″ syringes

15 -30G 1/2″ needles

1-3ml 22G 1 1/2″ needle and syringe

1 hospital sharps container

100 alcohol swabs

2 Azithromycin 500mg tablets (antibiotic for retrieval)

60 Estradiol 2mg tablets (for after retrieval)

3 boxes of Endometrin 100mg suppositories (60 per box)-$5.39/box

1 (14 day) Lupron kit-$149.99

So yeah.   If you are getting ready to go through IVF don’t panic.  It’s a lot of medications and as I said before I hate shots, but it looked like I was going to be giving myself multiple shots per day.  In order to prepare, my husband and I looked over the info we received from the RE and then started watching the training videos online.   We were doing this.   It was real.  IVF was now our only shot.

Leave a Reply

