Mock Embryo Transfer

After being on birth control pills for 2 weeks I went in to my RE’s office for a mock transfer.  If all went well I’d come off the pills the next week and prepare for my IVF cycle!   I was totally ready to go and when I got in the nurse practitioner greeted me.   She told me to get undressed from the waist down and she’d come back in and explain things to me.

When she came back in the mock transfer was similar to an IUI. They would put in a catheter, measure the length of my uterus, check the position of my uterus, and then put in a saline solution to make sure everything is ok.   The catheter went in without any trouble and the length was measured.  The position of my uterus was checked and the only issue seemed to be that it was tilted so they had to put it in at an angle.

Then came the saline. It didn’t hurt at all, I just had very minor cramping.  However, by the way the nurse practitioner was looking at the screen so intently I was worried.   She pointed to the screen and my uterus.  It looked like there was a bump inside it.  She explained to me that it was a uterine polyp.

Uterine polyps are growths attached to the inner wall of the uterus that extend into the uterine cavity. She told me that I would have to get them removed before we went on with the  IVF cycle.   I was confused as to why we had to do this but she said it could cause the embryo to not implant as it was supposed to.

When I asked what that would entail she said that I would have a surgery called a hysteroscopy and that they would remove the polyp.  They would then send it out to a lab to make sure it was benign and if it was I would then wait 2 weeks and start my IVF stims.  I then asked how soon they could schedule the hysteroscopy and they told me they’d have to call me because they do all the egg retrievals first, transfers second, then if they have time they do the hysteroscopy so I’d have a 2 day warning before I had to go.

I was very concerned about this but I hoped that maybe this was what was causing our infertility.  It is said that uterine polyps cause be a major cause of infertility so I told them that I wanted to get it done as soon as possible.  They told me they’d call when they had an opening.

One thought on “Mock Embryo Transfer

Leave a Reply

