IVF #1: My beta

On August 28th I had my beta drawn.  I got to the hospital at 7am.   I was a nervous wreck.   The woman at the registration desk got my name, my info, and sent me to wait.  Out came my favorite nurse to take my blood.

The blood draw only took minutes.  It had been 2 weeks since I had any blood drawn so it was easy to get my vein.   I walked out of the hospital and went to work.   I was pretty much a wreck all day long.   I could barely concentrate on the students and I checked my phone every 30 minutes.

At the end of my lunch period I checked one more time and saw that my nurse had called and left a message.  I waited until the other teacher in the room left and listened to the message.   I wasn’t sure I coudl handle anythign she had to say but I couldn’t wait until I got home.

Her message said that she was sorry she had missed me.   Then she said she wanted to give me the fantastic news that I was pregnant!   My beta results were 258 which was a great beta!   I couldn’t believe it.   I hit repeat and listened to the message again…three times.

pregnant

I sat down hard at my desk and started shaking.  I didn’t know what to do.   I started teary up as I shakily called my husband.   He answered and I said, “I’m pregnant.”  He paused and then told me that was great.  I could tell he was in shock as well.   We talked for a minute and then I had to go.  I don’t remember the rest of the day.  I was too preoccupied with the results of my beta.

After 3 IUI’s and 1 IVF cycle I couldn’t believe it had finally worked.  I was pregnant.

Disclaimer:  The above results are from August 28, 2014.  I am writing about my infertility experiences up to this point.

2 thoughts on “IVF #1: My beta

Leave a Reply

