National Infertility Awareness Week (NIAW)

Yesterday started National Infertility Awareness Week.   I so badly want to post status updates on my Facebook page, shout it out on Twitter, and shares quotes on my Pinterest page.   I think NIAW is such an important time because it teaches those who do not struggle with infertility about those of us who do.

National Infertility Awareness Week

Unfortunately, I am not “out” to my friends or family so I won’t be posting anywhere but here and on Twitter.   They don’t know about my daily struggles and don’t understand what it’s like to be blindsided with an unexpected pregnancy announcement.   They don’t understand that asking me when I’m going to have a baby is like punching me in the stomach.  But I can’t blame them, they don’t know any better.   They don’t know my struggle.

We’ve been on this crazy journey for almost 3 years now.  Three years ago this May I took my last birth control pill.   Two years ago this May I started charting and we really started trying.  One year ago this May we had 2 IUI’s behind us and were looking at IVF in the summer.

This year isn’t much different.   I’ve had 2 more IUI’s and am waiting for June for our second round of IVF.  Infertility isn’t pretty but it isn’t anything to be ashamed of.

This year’s theme for Infertility Awareness Week is You are not Alone.   You don’t know how true that is until you experience infertility.   I was surprised by how many of the women I talk to online, how many other bloggers, experience infertility.   I am currently on 3 chat boards with women just like me.  In fact, 1 in 8 couples experience infertility so why is it such a taboo topic?

Do you want to learn more about NIAW?  Go to the RESOLVE site and learn more about it and more about how you can educate others about infertility.

Leave a Reply

