Pre-Op for Hysteroscopy

This past Friday I had to go in for my Pre-Op for my Hysteroscopy this week.  I wasn’t really sure what to expect but it was a whirlwind of a day!

We went to the RE’s office and met with him first.  He pretty much just explained the procedure to us which we were familiar with since I had one last summer as well.  While listening to my heart he detected a heart murmur which no one has ever heard before so that was unexpected and a little worrisome.   My grandmother had horrible heart problems and open heart surgery at least 5 times during  her life.  My brother has a heart murmur too so I’m thinking it’s probably a hereditary thing.  Not cool.

After meeting with the RE we went over to the hospital to meet with some others.  Our first stop was the lab to have blood work done.  This was actually our blood work for our IVF cycle, not the hysteroscopy, but we did it the same day.   We each had 3 vials of blood taken and had to give a urine sample so a good time was had by all.

Next we went up to the pre-op area to meet with a few nurses.   The firsts nurse took my blood pressure, which is always good, my pulse, and my blood sugar level.   My blood sugar level was low but my guess is that was because my husband and I hadn’t eaten much that day because we knew we were going out to dinner after my appointments.   No big deal and I was sent to yet another room to meet with yet another person.  This one was a nurse practitioner.

She asked me a ton of questions and gave me a few instructions.  I’m not to take ibuprofen or Advil, my multi-vitamin, or my CoQ10 for 7 days before the procedure.  She also asked about chronic problems so we talked about my shoulder problems.   She wrote everything down then told me another nurse would be with me.

The next nurse came in and went through the procedure with me.  She asked me more questions, some the same as the ones the previous nurse asked.   She then handed me a bag with information about the procedure.  She also gave me soap that I’m to use the night before and the morning of the procedure.  Then she asked if I had any questions and sent me on my way.

It was a total whirlwind of a day but I’m glad we got everything taken care of.  I just got all my blood test results back and everything was normal so that is good.   Three days until the hysteroscopy.

 

2 thoughts on “Pre-Op for Hysteroscopy

Leave a Reply

