I’ve ordered my meds (AKA…this cycle is getting real)

Well IVF #3 (how did I get here?   SERIOUSLY) is officially coming to a start.   My nurse ordered my medication on Friday and I have them scheduled for delivery on Wednesday.   I’ve been hounding her a little bit because I want them at least a week before I start my IVF prep cycle.

I was a little nervous when they called to tell me what I needed.   They ordered me a 14 day Lupron kit, a delestrogen injection, an estrogen suppository, Menopur, Pregnyl, a TON of Follistim (I’m talking like 4,000-5,000 iu’s of the stuff), a z-pack, progeterone in olive oil (which has been a pain because my insurance company’s fertility pharmacy doesn’t carry it), and my birth control pills.

The total bill was insane, around $9000, but my insurance covers most of it.  I also ordered supplies which was about 50 syringes (3 different types), 50 needles (4 different sizes and gauges), alcohol swabs, and a sharps container.

I’ve never cycled while I’ve been working so I’m a little worried since I’ll be on medications for 4-5 weeks.  I usually do IVF in the summer when I’m off but there is no time for us to wait now.  I’m too old, my ovaries have too much of a diminished capacity, and I’m tired of waiting months on end to cycle.

So now that the meds are ordered I’m a little scared.  I told my husband I’m not sure about this cycle since it will probably be our last.  I’m not yet ready to give up on our dream.  I don’t feel like I’ve had time to process it.  I can only hope we have enough embryos to transfer and possibly 1 or 2 to freeze.   But I’m getting ahead of myself.  I don’t even know if we’ll retrieve any eggs, let alone freeze any embryos.

So here we are, T minus 2 weeks and counting.  October 10 or 11 should be when I get my period and I’ll start baby aspirin and birth control pills the next day.  Keep your fingers crossed my friends that three times is a charm!

7 thoughts on “I’ve ordered my meds (AKA…this cycle is getting real)

  1. Kimberly @ Infertility Unfiltered

    Fingers crossed for you too!!!! Isn’t it crazy that these small steps to this journey can makes us go all “feel” and stuff? I felt that way too when I ordered my meds for my 1st treated cycle this month. Praying so hard for you that this time will be the “one.”

    Like

    Reply
  2. tidleone

    I worked through my first and was off on my second, although I wasn’t as exhausted when I was off it drove me insane because I had nothing to distract me and really focus on. Hope all goes well. I’m putting off my 3rd cycle until the new year – I’m not ready to process things if it doesn’t work and it’s well and truly the end. My fingers will be crossed for you. Xx

    Like

    Reply
    1. 26rainbow Post author

      Thank you! I know how you feel. We think this is our last cycle and I’m not sure how I will handle it if it doesn’t work. It’s scary to think I may be at the end of this journey soon.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

