Shots, shots, shots, shots!

So stims have officially started as of Wednesday night.   I’m amazed by how many items I have to take into the bathroom with me each night.  I’m only doing 3 shots (only right?) but it takes a lot.   I have my Follistim pen, a needle for the Follistim, the syringe for the Menopur, 2 bottles for the Menopur (the water and the powder), the Q cap, a 27G 1/2 inch needle for the Menopur, the bottle of Lupron, an insulin needle for the Lupron, my estrogen suppository, 3 alcohol swabs (1 for the bottles, one to clean my stomach, one for when my stomach bleeds), and a band-aid.   I mean, it takes me like 15 minutes to do everything and I’m a pro by this point.  I didn’t even read any of the instructions, look at videos, or my manuals this time.

So the Follistim is fine. The needle is tiny and doesn’t bother me much.   I did get a big bruise though on Thursday from this needle and I’m not sure why.  I’m totally over the Lupron.  I had a migraine Wednesday and Thursday nights.  I’ve had a low ache headache since then.   Then there’s the Menopur.  This is my nemesis.   It burns like you wouldn’t believe if you’ve never done it.  I hate the stuff and I have to do the whole vial this time which sucks.

So is all of this working?   I don’t know.   That’s the part I hate about this process.  I have my first monitoring appointment in the morning.  I’ll have been on my stims for 5 days then so we’ll see if things are going on.  I’m thinking they are because I’m starting to feel bloated and have some pressure in the area where my ovaries are.  Since I didn’t have an AFC I don’t even know what to hope for.   Last time my AFC was 13 so I hoped for at least 10 retrieved and that’s what I got.   At this point I could have 4 follicles or 20.  I have no clue and since my AMH is different then it was the last 2 times I really feel like I’ve been thrown a curve ball.

So I’ll do my stims tonight, have bloodwork and ultrasound in the morning, then my nurse will call and let me know if I need to change my dosage.   I started out at 450 of Follistim but that was only for 2 days and now I’m at 375 which is the lowest dose I’ve ever been on (though I was only on 225 of Gonal-F my first cycle).

So think of me tomorrow morning and send good fairy dust and unicorn poop my way when I’m at the office.  I have to rush back to go to work but I’m hoping to post my results tomorrow evening.

One thought on “Shots, shots, shots, shots!

  1. heathermstaley2014

    Pulling for you here. Also threw in some good unicorn poop from the HK Bar for you (okay maybe it’s not unicorn but it’s from ten performance horses that are as close to unicorn as you will ever find). Peace and well wishes. I hope you get the results you are so desperately chasing. I know I was once on this journey as well and it is not easy! Three beautiful girls later, I can tell you it is all worth every ugly med and side effect you have to endure.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

