Monitoring Appointment #3 (IVF #4)

So I had another monitoring appointment yesterday.  My old RE did the monitoring because my new RE was doing an egg retrieval…on my OB/gyn!   What a crazy beginning to the day that was!

My old RE is super thorough.   He measures follicles from 3 angles instead of 2 so it took a while longer.  My nurse was off yesterday so the insurance coordinator, who I love, was in with me taking the notes.

As of right now it looks like I had 7 follicles on the right between 12-20, most of them being between 15-17.  On the left I had 5 follicles between 11-16.  They wanted to wait for my bloodwork before deciding whether or not to trigger me.  My RE came in, reviewed the data, and stated that he really wanted to push me another day if the numbers came in ok.   I’m all for that since I’d like some of those 15’s to mature.

I went home feeling ok.   Some of my follicles were clearly bigger while others looked similar to my previous appointment.  I’m worried I’m going to lose the 20 and that the 11 and 12’s aren’t going to make it.   I hate the waiting game.  This is like the worst time during monitoring.  I always feel like the worst times are the day you do your AFC, the day before egg retrieval, the day after egg retrieval when you get the fertilization report, and the day of transfer.    Of course the very worst is beta day but those other 4 are pretty sucky too.

So my husband and I decided to go shopping while we had some time and while in a store my nurse called.   She said they are pushing me back one day because my numbers came back good.  Guys, my E2 is 2115!   WHAT?!  I haven’t had an E2 that high since my first round of IVF.   I’m getting really nervous, scared, and excited over here.  Is it too much to hope for that I get 10 retrieved (which has happened the last 2 times), all 10 are mature, and 4 fertilize????   That’s what I’m hoping for since the last two times I’ve had 2 and 3 fertilize.

If we get 4 and they make it to day 3 they will send them out for PGD and I’ll have a day 5 transfer.   Again, I haven’t had a day 5 transfer since my first cycle.  That would almost be too good to be true.  PLUS, as a recap, on that first cycle I had 22 retrieved, 17 mature, 10 fertilize, and only 3 make it to day 5 so I’m a little worried about waiting.  However, I’d love to have 1 or 2 to freeze just so we can have another shot if needed.

So, I did my last day of stims last night.   I’ll trigger tonight at 9:30.   Egg retrieval is at 7:30 on Tuesday morning.  I have to be there by 7.   Please keep me in your thoughts as I’m already beginning to freak out!

Leave a Reply

