Egg Retrieval 4.0 Complete

So today was egg retrieval.   My husband and I were both really worried about it.  He got up at 1:30 am and I got up at 4 am.    Neither of us went back to sleep.   So we were pretty exhausted.

I got to the clinic at 7.   My nurse took my husband back to one room while I went with another nurse to get dressed.   I met the anesthesiologist and he was super nice.  He and my nurse kept up some banter that was pretty funny.   He asked if this was my first time and I laughed so he just handed the paperwork over for me to sign.

My husband came back to give me a kiss and then I went in to the surgery area.   The nurse got me ready and then my doctor came in. Next thing I knew I was waking up.  I was crampy but otherwise felt ok.  The nurse got me some medication and an apple juice.  Then they brought my husband back.

After 20 minutes the embryologist came in to talk to us.   He said they collected 10 eggs and he was happy because none of them appeared to have endometriosis in them which was part of the problem last time.   He talked to us about our options with PGD, freezing, etc.   He gave me some options I hadn’t thought about which was good.   It gives us something to think about.

The man is a wealth of information.   He talked all about endometriosis.  It turns out that was his specific area of study so he told me a lot of information and gave me some different options into pain management as well.  My husband then asked him if he watched the series Masters of Sex.   While he didn’t he was familiar with Masters and Johnson and so we talked about infertility and the sex studies.

Then we got back on track.  He told me that he was actually surprised I didn’t get pregnant last time.  He said both embryos we transferred were good quality and he would have thought it would have happened.  Given my history he says as long as we have a few embryos this time he thinks we have a good shot.  It was really nice to hear that.

So we have 10 eggs.  My guess is that 7 or 8 will be mature.   My other guess is that 3 or 4 will be fertilized.  I will be absolutely crushed if less then 3 fertilize.   So the nurse will call me tomorrow and let me know the fertilization rate.  I’m so scared and nervous.  I know it could be 0 but I’m hoping we have some fertilize.

As for how I’m feeling, I was ok when we got home and I took a nap.  When I woke up I was in some pain.   My lower abdomen is very tender and hurts some.  I’ve been sitting on the couch and laying on the floor all day. My husband made dinner so that was good.

So, now we wait….again.  I hopefully will update tomorrow…with good news.

3 thoughts on “Egg Retrieval 4.0 Complete

  1. tidleone

    Congratulations, 10 gives you a great chance and it sounds like it went really well. I really hope that it all works out this time. In the meantime just get as much rest as you possibly can, safe in the knowledge that you did everything that you could. Good luck. Xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

