Day 3 Update (What happened to day 1 and 2??)

Sorry I left you all hanging.  It’s been a crazy week at school and I just haven’t had time.  We had back to school night one night and I’ve been running around all week.

So we had 10 retrieved.  On Wednesday I got a call from my nurse that only 6 of the 10 were mature.  I was really disappointed because I thought with my E2 as high as it was at least 8 would be mature.  But it wasn’t the case.  HOWEVER, of the 6 FOUR of them fertilized!  This is better then my last 2 IVF cycles!  It’s the best I’ve done in 2 years.   This is big (and hopefully good) news.

Yesterday I got my day 2 update and we really had to talk about things.   I had 2 4-cell embryos of very good quality.  I also had 2 3-cell embryos of fair quality.  Not too bad.  We discussed PGD, freezeing, etc.   I’ve decided that if all 4 make it to day 5 blasts we’ll send them out for PGD.  If only 3 make it we’ll transfer 2 and freeze 1.   If 2 make it we’ll transfer those and if 1 makes it we will transfer it.  I feel like we’ll have the best chance with day 5 blasts.

I’m freaking out a little bit because I hate to wait until Sunday to see how they are doing.  It’s scary wiaitng.   If they don’t call me Sunday morning I have to be there at 9 for a 9:30 transfer..   That means between 1-3 made it.   If I get a call Sunday morning it means 1 of 2 things.   Either all 4 made it and we’re doing PGD with a freeze.   Then we’ll do FET next month.   The other option is that none of the embryos made it to blast and I have nothing to transfer.  I have to say, I’m hoping for no call.  That way I know at least SOMETHING made it.  Sunday is going to be a BAD day for me.

I got another update today.  As of noon all 4 are still kicking.  I realize that most embryos are lost between day 3 and day 5 so I have a long way to go. But my update was good.  They like to see between 6-8 cells on day 3.   I have 2 8-cell very good quality embryos, 1 8-cell fair quality, and 1 9-cell fair quality so I’m feeling pretty good about that.  I’m hoping for 2 to make it to Sunday but I’ll even take one!

So please keep me and the embryos in your thoughts.   I’m hoping we get something good out of this cycle!

One thought on “Day 3 Update (What happened to day 1 and 2??)

Leave a Reply

