FET monitoring

Could this time of year get any busier?   Thanksgiving week was a blur.  I went to my brother’s house and helped cook Thanksgiving dinner.  Then we came back to our place and I worked all weekend.   On Monday I had an IV infusion and my first monitoring appointment.

I had my ultrasound first.  The RE came in with my nurse and he checked me out.  He said everything looked good and my lining was at 12mm.  I then went back to get my bloodwork and infusion.  This was the tricky part.

In order to do both without sticking me twice they have to run the flexible needle and get a syringe on it for my blood draw.  Then they take that off and switch it to the IV drip.   It gets messy.  There was blood everywhere.   I just laughed because there is really no other way to do it and it stinks.

I did my infusion and it went fine.  Then my nurse came in to talk to me.   She told me she’d call and let me know how things were.  I was really hoping the Lupron preventing me from ovulating.  My nurse told me we would reduce the estrogen to twice a day on Wednesday, stop Lupron, and start progesterone.  1 cc of progesterone for 2 days then up it to 2cc after that.  If all worked out transfer will be Monday the 5th.

I got a call on Tuesday that my estrogen was at 250 and my progesterone was under 1 so we were good to go!   Wednesday and Thursday were a breeze.  I had a bit of a headache from the changing hormones but the PIO shots went fine.  Last night is where it went bad.  I’ve never had 2cc of PIO before.

My husband got the needle in and started  pushing in the oil.  It burned like crazy!   I cringed but he finished it.   It felt sore but I didn’t think much of it.  I got up this morning to a huge bruise.  It’s like 3 inches wide.  Today we did the shot on the other side and it was fine.  It bled a lot but it didn’t burn this time. I hope there isn’t another bruise.

So now we wait.   In 2 days we’ll go in for the transfer.  I hope my poor embryo thaws ok.  We have 2 frozen and I’m scared they won’t thaw.  They are going to transfer the good blast.  That means the fair expanding blast will be left.   This is it for us, our last 2 tries (if they make it).  Transfer is at 2:30 so keep your fingers crossed for me!

Leave a Reply

